null Skip to main content

Stephenson, James - Sounds Awakened

(No reviews yet) Write a Review
Stephenson Sounds
Gift wrapping:
Options available

Sounds Awakened - Concerto for French Horn and Orchestra (Piano Reduction) by James M. Stephenson.

About the music:

Two things are represented in the first movement:
1) Gail grew up on a farm, and in conversation with her, I was struck by what her life was like as a young girl, and the strength she carries, both as a horn player, and personally. The opening fanfare material is a reflection of that character.
2) I was struck by a video I once saw of a "murmuration of starlings" (cover photo). These birds are incredible, in their ability to fly in such close proximity at high speeds, making instantaneous turns, all the while never running into one another. This is represented in the fast oscillating notes of the Allegro molto section. The title suggests what might happen if the opening fanfare were played right near a flock of starlings, sending them into action.
The second movement is pensive, characterized by an ever-reaching motif that gradually reaches higher and higher throughout. The third movement, like most, provides for a virtuosic finish, that allows the soloist to show off their stuff. References are made to earlier material throughout the movement.
I am deeply indebted to all of the individuals for their faith in me to write a new substantial work for the french horn. Being a (former) brass player myself, I had already written major works for all other instruments of the brass family, and with the completion of this work, the collection is complete.

Publisher - Stephenson Music