null Skip to main content

Strauss, Richard - Concerto No. 1, Op. 11, Urtext

(No reviews yet) Write a Review
Strauss Concerto 1 Henle
Gift wrapping:
Options available
Adding to cart… The item has been added

Horn Concerto No. 1 in E-Flat Major, Op. 11

Horn and Piano Reduction

Publisher: Henle Urtext Edition
Composer: Richard Strauss
Editor: Peter Damm

With his first horn concerto, the merely eighteen-year-old Richard Strauss succeeded in producing a captivating masterstroke. To this day, the concerto is beloved throughout the world not only by horn players, and together with Mozart's masterworks numbers among the essential pieces in the instrument's repertoire. Peter Damm, former principal horn for the Staatskapelle Dresden and world-class soloist, has not only performed the concerto publicly over 170 times himself, but has also presented pivotal research findings and publications on its genesis. Prepared after reviewing all surviving sources, the Urtext edition he has edited may thus been regarded as the edition of reference. For use in lessons and for performances, the especially playable piano reduction by Johannes Umbreit is a great help.