null Skip to main content

Miller, Brett - 21 Studies on Works of Russian Masters

(No reviews yet) Write a Review
Miller Russian
Gift wrapping:
Options available
Adding to cart… The item has been added

Concert Etudes for Horn: 21 Studies on Works of Russian Masters by Brett Miller. $15.00

This book includes studies based on excerpts from Tchaikovsky - Symphony No. 4, Stravinsky - Rite of Spring, Borodin - In the Steppes of Central Asia, Shostakovich - Symphony No. 5, Shostakovich - Cello Concerto, Stravinsky - Firebird, Prokofiev - Symphony No. 5, Rachmaninov - Concerto for Piano No. 2, Tchaikovsky - Symphony No. 5, Shostakovich - Symphony No. 1, Rimsky-Korsakov - Scheherazade, Stravinsky - Petrushka, Prokofiev - Romeo and Juliet, Tchaikovsky - Symphony No. 2, and Tchaikovsky - Symphony No. 6.

These new studies are designed to focus on particularly demanding technical or musical challenges that horn players encounter in preparing certain orchestral works for performance or audition. Each etude is composed in a manner that is stylistically coherent with the writings of the composer, yet pushes the technical envelope far past the excerpt upon which it is based. They are designed to emphasize and improve articulation, dynamic control, transposition, lyricism, and pure finger technique inherent in each symphonic excerpt.

Publisher: Brass Arts Unlimited